Thursday, 27 March 2014

SOME SHOWS

playing with HELLSHOVEL in Hamilton at This Ain't Hollywood on April 8 in HAMILTON

 AND LALALALADYHAWK AT THE horseshoe tavern in Toronto on the 17 of APRIL - sound quality better be better than this.

Thursday, 7 November 2013

DETROIT, TORONTO, CHICAGO

HI HELLO

Announcement - we are playing a show at Toronto's Horseshow Tavern on December 6.  Tickets will go on sale  on November 15.  Stay Alert.



Gonna be in Detroit and Chicago in two weeks.  See Show page. Duh

Thursday, 31 October 2013

13th FLOOR ELEVATORS & CRYSTAL ANTLERS

TONIGHT IS DEATH TO T.O.
We're playing Schmidt's old stomping grounds, the Comfort Zone.  Drawn from the Facebook page:

HERE WE GO AGAIN. TORONTO BANDS DRESS UP AND PERFORM A FULL SET OF THEIR BAND OF CHOICE. TWO FLOORS. THIS WILL BE A NIGHT TO REMEMBER.


Alright Highest Order is going as 13th Floor Elevators with Jamie Algie of the Honourary Members Club joining on jug.

 And tomorrow we're playing with Crystal Antlers at The SILVER DOLLAR.



 go on.  these guys are a little more certain than us judging by their record title. just saying.

Wednesday, 25 September 2013

POP POP MONTREAL

The Highest Order is playing two shows at Pop Montreal.

Froids Tes Avions!
Les jolies coeurs, voici les temps et les places:


Thursday September 26 - Club Spectacle l'Escogriffe
ON AT MIDNIGHT

Friday September 27- Le Divan Orange
AFTERNOON SHOW - 2PM MY FRIENDS
FACEBOOK LINK

Sincerement,
L'ordre le plus haut dans les cieux














photo by jamie algae

Thursday, 1 August 2013

QUEBEC CITY & SAPPYFEST

Friday we're at L'Agitee in Quebec City - our first time.
Sunday we play Sappyfest in the afternoon, and then join Jackson Triggs & The Wine Lips later that night for a full set of Cottage Country.

Thanks to Graeme Phillips for this footage of a party that happened :




Toujours,
The Highest Order

Thursday, 11 July 2013

NEW DATES AND A GOOD INTERVIEW

We've got some new dates coming up

MONTREAL, QC - Friday, July 26 - L'escogriffe w/Milk Lines

PETERBOROUGH, ON - Saturday, July 27 - The Garnet w/Milk Lines and The Losing Hand

QUEBEC CITY - Friday, August 2nd - L'Agitee

SACKVILLE, NB., for Sappyfest -  Sunday, August 4 -  who knows?

CLEVELAND, OH. - Wednesday, August 14 - Wilbert's

CHICAGO, IL. - Thursday, August 15 - Empty Bottle

KALIMAZOO, MI. - Friday, August 16 - Shakespear's

SARNIA, ON. - Saturday, August 17 - Paddy Flaherty's 


And here's a great interview done by Mark Teo.  Insightful as always.



And also, to Coco Medley & Jared Raab - thanks for the intuitive work.


Thursday, 27 June 2013

TURF

TORONTO We are playing Lee's Palace on Thursday July 4 (that's it, next thursday) as part of the Toronto Urban Roots Festival special late night club shows.  We'll be playing an hour long set, opening for the Barr Brothers.  On at 9:30, so this is it, all you early sleepers, this is it.

YOU CAN BUY TICKETS IN ADVANCE HERE FOR $20.


Go West but then come back

Had a deli of a tour out west.  Saw a lot of skies, a lot of guys, mostly friends, some very generous meals from some very generous festivals (MOSO, SLED) and squatted our Edmonton Dad's house for many days.  Had to give Vancouver and Victoria the old Heave Ho off the tour route, due to the hydrological system coming down hard and unruly on southern Alberta.   Played our set for Sled Island at the Ship n' Anchor, and then got the old Heave Ho ourselves.   Woke up and drove East with the people of Siksika First Nation and Calgary on our minds and a gratitude to all the kind people along the way. 













Saturday, 8 June 2013

UPCOMING DATES



WINNIPEG MB - Thursday, June 13 - The Park Theatre

SASKATOON - Friday, June 14 - Lydia's as part of MOSO

EDMONTON - Saturday, June 15 - The Empress - early show - 4pm

LLOYDMINSTER, AB - Wednesday, June 19 - The Root

CALGARY, AB - Thursday, June 20 - Ship & Anchor for Sled Island

VANCOUVER, BC - Saturday, June 22 - Anti-Social - w/ Jon-Rae Fletcher

VICTORIA, BC - Sunday, June 23 - The Copper Owl - w/ Jon-Rae Fletcher

LEDUC, AB - Thursday, June 27 - Burnsy O'Flannagans

REGINA, SK - Saturday, June 29- O'Hanlan's - w/The Besnard Lakes

TORONTO, ON - Thursday, July 4 -  Toronto Urban Roots Festival - Lee's Palace w/ the Barr Brothers

SACKVILLE, NB., for Sappyfest -  Sunday, August 4 -  who knows?

CLEVELAND, OH. - Wednesday, August 14 - Wilbert's

CHICAGO, IL. - Thursday, August 15   - Empty Bottle

SARNIA, ON. - Friday, August 16 - Paddy Flaherty's


Wednesday, 22 May 2013

HORSEY CRAZE

Bry Webb, Will Kidman, Dallas Werhle of the Constantines, and someone else called John, will be playing in a band called Horsey Craze this Friday, at the Silver Dollar.  This is a Neil Young cover band, made up of some of  the best rock n' roll musicians of the time and place in which we live.

THIS FRIDAY MAY TWO FOUR
AT THE SILVER DOLLAR
WE ARE PLAYING BEFORE
HORSEY CRAZE
AND AFTER
CUT FLOWERS
WE SUGGEST YOU SHOW UP
WE HAVE A NEW JAM FOR YOU TOO

signed,
THE HIGHEST WE

Thursday, 16 May 2013

Thursday, 9 May 2013

WEST COAST / PRAIRIE RUN

Alright Sons and Daughters and Everyone Who Falls In Between and Beyond,
The Highest Order is going west of Toronto
Take note: some exciting dates with old buddy Jon- Rae Fletcher

Thursday, June 13  -  Winnipeg, MB  -  The Park Theatre
Friday,  June 14 - Saskatoon, SK  -  MoSoFest
Saturday June 15  -  Edmonton, AB  -  The Empress --- early show
Wednesday, June 19  -  Lloydminster, AB  -  The Root
Thursday, June 20  -  Calgary, AB  -  Sled Island
Friday, June 21  -   Calgary, AB  -  Sled Island
Saturday, June 22  -  Vancouver, BC  -  Anti-Social - w/ Jon-Rae Fletcher
Sunday, June 23  -  Victoria, BC  -  The Copper Owl  - w/ Jon-Rae
Fletcher   Wednesday, June 26  -  Sirdar, BC  -  Sirdar Pub  - w/ Carolyn Mark
Saturday, June 29v Regina, SK  -  O' Hanlon's – w/The Besnard Lakes




Tuesday, 7 May 2013

LIFE'S A BEACH?




THANKS to Madi Chambers for shooting this live recording in Los Angeles, Newfoundland.

Monday, 6 May 2013

Good Show / More Shows

Toronto show was a blast. Thanks to Ehab for sending us this shot of a two headed dawg rocking out on lead.

This week we're at the APK in London on Thursday, and FM Lounge in Windsor on Friday.

Wednesday, 1 May 2013

SATURDAY HOME TOWN RECORD LAUNCH

Back from the East Coast. Public Thanks to the Lawnya Vawnya Festival. Private ones to come. The point is we're going to Hamilton this Friday and and then Saturday we have a record launch with a bunch of special guests:







Guests include some of these guys:

This guy

This life changer:

And more talent:

TWO SETS, LIKE THE OLD TIMES!

Tuesday, 16 April 2013

Stephenville

Tonight at Clancy's Pub

Saturday, 13 April 2013

Old Confidence Lodge

Diego Medina's got a good thing going in the south shore of Nova Scotia. Check out The Old Confidence lodge when you get a chance.

Friday, 12 April 2013

Halifax show canceled sorry!

Dear Halifax, The Highest Order is sad to say we won't be playing Gus' tonight. Laryngitis got us down. Make up show on Wednesday April 24 - location to be determined. COME BACK HERE FOR NEWS ON THAT. Keep on rocking silently tonight. If you want a record come visit us at 6113 North St. and get it off us. Yours truly, The Highest ORder

Tuesday, 9 April 2013

EAST COAST

We're headed east in two days and we've just announced a new show in Wolfville NS, on Sunday.


Thursday, April 11 - Montreal - Casa Del Popolo WITH PAT JORDACHE
Friday, April 12 - Halifax - Gus' Pub
Saturday, April 13 -  Lunenburg - Old Confidence Lodge
Sunday, April 14 - Wolfville - Acadia's Manning Memorial Chapel
Tuesday, April 16 - Stephenville, NFLD - Clancey's
Wednesday, April 17 - Cornerbrook, NFLD - The White Horse Lounge
Thursday, April 18 - Lawnya Vawnya Festival
Thursday, April 25 - Sackville - The Legion
Friday, April 26 - Fredericton - The Capital
Saturday April 27 - Peterborough - The Spill
Friday, May 3 - Hamilton - This Ain't Hollywood
Saturday, May 4 -Toronto - The Horseshoe Tavern
Thursday, May 9 - London ON - APK
Friday, May 10 - Windsor ON - FM Lounge




Monday, 18 March 2013

Rest in Peace Jason Molina 1973-2013


Thursday, 14 March 2013

ALBUM TEDNA


NOW TORONTO's Richard Trapunski's review of IF IT'S REAL, album of the week, translated into Slovenian and then back again to English

"NNNN - Fans of roots and country in Toronto know Simone Schmidt and Paul Mortimer as the main members of hundred dollars, but I transferred to the highest order, with drummer Simone TB (Tropics, Ell V Gore) and bassist Kyle Porter in the rhythm section. Although the group shares DNA with the previous - a penchant for gritty murder ballads and tales of loneliness and longing - this debut is a completely new beast.
TB is the background noise and garage rock to inform her drumming ensemble and gives a heavy punch power, especially in kinesiology Kraut of cosmic manipulation, the three parts are scattered throughout the album. Mortimer plays a leading role in hundreds of dollars, but it has even more attention here, it is often at the forefront of psychedelic guitar provides a spacey, stoned warmth.
As usual, though Schmidt manages most of the attention with its confident, husky vocals and lyrics, which increase with the depth of classical themes."



SIMONE TB


photo courtesy of Michael Helmer 

Just added a date in Windsor at the FM Lounge.  May 10 to be precise

Monday, 11 March 2013

STREAMY

Not to mix a metaphor, but our new record is streaming on the world wide web.  

You can pre-order it too if you click HERE
and it'll be shipped to you on March 19.



Friday, 1 March 2013

IF IT'S REAL

March 19 - New Record Also, we've added London to our May tour dates. We'll be at the APK on may 9.

Wednesday, 20 February 2013

COFFEE TEAM

We went to the Lupercalia Winter Music Festival and played a club called The Darkside last Saturday. Good time. Our guy Jamie Algie the boatman came along and he took this picture of us. I want to tell you that a few years ago, after years of Tim Hortons hegemony over the highways, and experiencing that unique kind of abuse only such a monopoly can dole out to a touring band, I gave myself over fully to Scarborough's very own Coffee Time, it being the sign of a healthy neighbourhood, a friendly place for loitering, for buying a better coffee or a good fried donut. Since then they've changed their font to a font much too jovial for me, and I object to their expansion into Afghanistan and Iraq. Still, I'd prefer it to a Tammy's in my hood any day. But lo and behold, on our way from the impeccable Lupercalia Sunday Brunch, we came across the old font and a better message:




Thank you Jamie Algie for developing this film so promptly. -SS

Monday, 18 February 2013

MARCH 1st W/ BBQ


we are happy to say we'll be back at the silver dollar opening for Mark "BBQ" Sultan on march first. soon. swoon.
we're also playing with the Legato Vipers (shadowy men-style surfy stuff. rad) and Chico No Face.
$10 at rotate this and soundscapes.

here's the facebook invite if you're into that stuff.
-STB

Thursday, 14 February 2013

QUEST FOR FIRE : THE LAST SHOW

Chad Ross, a member of The Highest Order's Honorary Members Club, rang us earlier this week to ask us to fill in on Quest For Fire's last show.  It's tomorrow (Friday the 15th) at the Horseshoe.



It would feel like a funeral if it weren't for the fact that these musicians have other music they're gonna get to soon.

Thursday, 7 February 2013

Lonely Weekends

New Jam from the record Thank You Charlie Rich Also - we announced some more shows in Eastern Canada... check out the SHOWS

Friday, 1 February 2013

TONIGHT AT THE GARRISOIN

Tonight, Friday February 1st, we're playing a PWYC show at The Garrison in Toronto, with Simply Saucer a band crucial to the development of one of Morty's earlier bands The Pauls, according to the other Paul in The Pauls, Paul Julian Tanti to whom I ran in today.  The show is for the launch of the Ontario Independent Music Archive.  



Party time.